Socks

I’m whizzing through a sock started last weekend, heading down the foot now.  Whitby from Nancy Bush Knitting on the Road.  Oddly enough, actually using the specified yarn – Louet Gems, fingering weight, a nice brown.  I added 4 stitches (1 repeat of 2×2 ribbing) because I’m working at a pretty small gauge.  Not that I know which gauge it is, of course.  I’ll measure later, probably when I’m done. 

I like my sock fabric to be tightly knit.  Unfortunately, I knit loosely.  I generally knit socks for me on 00 (1.75 mm) Inox DPNs to get a nice firm fabric.

I’m enjoying this pattern.  Plain knitting can be slow.  This pattern I find very fast and rhythmic.  I wouldn’t say I’ve memorized it, but I certainly don’t have to follow the chart since the first repeat.  I suppose I’m following the knitting.  And I knit just one more round, and then one more, then suddenly I’ve finished another repeat or two.  I don’t usually knit socks so quickly.  I hope I move half this fast with the second!

Recently read:

Eva Rice, The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets is another really really good book.  How’s that for some general praise that doesn’t tell you a thing?  Nice story, very good character development.  Oddly enough, it’s written in first person and it didn’t bother me.  I’m happy to have read 2 very good, satisfying books in one week.  Too bad reading interferes with sleep.   ETA:  The setting is 1955 England.  Not a time I’ve personally run across often in reading.  The story was very clearly of that time and place, but was not overwhelmed or only the setting.  The book itself is much clearer than my attempts here!

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting and more knitting, Reading

2 responses to “Socks

  1. Jane

    Hi, Gwen! I love that you’re blogging. It’s a great way for those of us who are too far away to see what’s going on in your life and your knitting. And your reading, too — I’m starting a list of the books you think are good.
    Looks as though Whitby will have to be my next sock. Still haven’t knitted up the Gems I bought at Article Pract last September after the sock retreat!
    Love you,
    Jane

  2. laflaka

    Hi Jane!

    Infectious things, these socks! Watch out for the books, too.

    Gwen

Leave a Reply

