Fits and Starts

Why yes, I do have a baby sweater I’m working on.  No pictures here though! 

A Fit:

For my brother, the mittens I started sometime last winter. 

Kalev’s Mittens from Nancy Bush Folk Knitting in Estonia – the design that looks like coffee beans or flowers.  I knit a repeat of the beans, realized I had the top part backwards, along with varied and wonky (technical term) tension, so ripped back to just above the ribbing.  And started up again, not to notice yet though.  This is my first project with stranded colorwork, other than a little bit in a hat.  Awkward, especially using DPNs.  I feel my fingers are actually my toes.  Slow going, but it will eventually be done.  And the second one too.

The yarn is Heirloom Argyle 4 ply, 50 gram balls 80% wool 20% nylon, colors 484 (black) and 494 (green) bought from The Wooly West.  Lovely soft yarn, holds up well to repeated knitting and untangling (ahem).  The needles are Inox 00/1.75 mm DPNs. 

A Start:

Glorious. 

Originally uploaded by rnflaka.

I didn’t buy this many times.  Every time I looked at it (and felt it), I thought, “This glows.  This is a sunrise (yes, I’m overwriting).  This is expensive.”

I finally splurged and bought two skeins of Curious Creek Fibers Isalo 100% silk (bombyx mori) colorway Sunrise on Daffodils (I’m not the only one overwriting), 95 g.   

The yarn is spectacular and needs a simple piece.  I think this will work.  A rectangular shawl based on the Sarah Blanch Shawl in Cheryl Oberle’s Folk Shawls.

And a day or so after this photo, this is no longer a start.  The silk is too slippery for the drop stitch pattern – the long dropped stitches look lovely, but the next row of garter loosens.  Okay, but not good enough.  I think I’ll try something like one of Ilga Leja’s scarves.  Later.  I’ve got a Tomtem to work on now.

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting and more knitting

2 responses to “Fits and Starts

  1. Kmom

    Before I forget, this is the book I just finished listening to–read by the author: “Dream When You’re Blue” by Elizabeth Berg. -k

  2. Pingback: Dim Sum and Real Size « Small Scars

Leave a Reply

