Tomten, Lace, and dead camera batteries

buttons Tomtem

I finished the second sleeve of the Tomten Jacket (I thought I took a picture to prove it, but…). Next: seaming the sleeves and knitting the front band. Now: weaving in ends. Many ends. I picked up these buttons today, without the sweater in hand. I think they’ll do. (Colour’s off this photo.) The baby girl was born Wednesday! Congratulations to Mom!

one leaf and trellis VLT

I was right. The first lace shawl is in Jane Sowerby’s Victorian Lace Today, large rectangle in leaf and trellis pattern with trellis border. Before casting on, I decided to add a repeat (43 st) of the central pattern. I may need to add another, or go up a needle size. I’ll decide after I knit more on this swatch and do a quick wet block. I have a feeling I’ll keep the needles (2.0 mm) and add a repeat. I don’t want stingy shawls for my nieces! The yarn feels lovely – soft and light.

In rabbit news: Her house is nearly finished. ETA: It’s finished enough. She’s moved in, with remodeling/additions planned. Photos when I change the camera batteries.

In Kid news: We’re recovering from a birthday party in Tilden Park, near the Merry-Go-Round (one of those old lovely wooden ones). Not a hectic party, but outside for hours, and the Kid doesn’t eat much at parties. Juice and cake, and lots of running. The kids found the water faucet and made a good puddle. The girls rescued the earthworms, and wanted to take them home.

1 Comment

Filed under Kid Stories, Knitting and more knitting, Ten of Lace

One response to “Tomten, Lace, and dead camera batteries

  1. Kmom

    Aaaaah. The shawl pattern is so lovely. And I am so jealous of you and your cloud-s0ft Whole Cone! I did a quick swatch of some sock yarn that I thought I’d make into a baby surprise jacket–washable wool with some nylon; one of those variegated things that makes an intricate pattern as you knit. Way too coarse for a baby. Fine for feet. Will make socks with it instead and start them on our trip to Green Banks, WV.
    -kmom

Leave a Reply

