Rumours of Garbage Trucks

Twas the morning of garbage day, and all through the streets

only the scavengers were stirring, looking for cans.

The Kid was asleep snug in his bed,

while visions of garbage trucks danced through my head.

I thought I heard a garbage truck in the morning.  I didn’t.  The Kid told me he saw a garbage truck, but it was gone before I got to the window.  He told me it was a different kind.  I saw a water utility dump truck drive up the street.  Later, I saw 6 or 7 of those very large trucks that are at the bottom of chutes when part of a building is demolished.  They’re a type of garbage truck.

Freakin’ mirages.

ETA:  Garbage has been picked up on our street!  2 weeks and 1 day late.  Surrounding streets still waiting as of 9 am today, but we saw a real live garbage truck working on it.

2 Comments

Filed under Oakland

2 responses to “Rumours of Garbage Trucks

  1. I heard about the garbage strike on the radio this morning as I was driving to work and thought of you. I hope it is over soon.

    Thanks for the compliment on the bear. He was fun to make.

    I’ve blogrolled you, by the way.

  2. kmom

    Great takeoff on a poem we all know. Hurray for garbage trucks that come!!!

Leave a Reply

