Leaf and Trellis Lace Swatch

I’ve knit one repeat of the leaf and trellis pattern.  I wanted to see if I need to add another stitch pattern repeat for a good width and if the needle size works.  Needles are fine.  I’m not sure if I want to make it wider or not.  The idea of a generous wrap appeals to me. 

Right now, it’s blocked out to 24 inches wide easily (with 3 stitch pattern repeats), and the edging will add to the width.  (It’s not our eyes.  It’s the photo.  Hard to get a good angle and good focus.)
1 swatch width VLT leaf and trellis

The gauge is good, I think.  The solid areas are solid and the holes are holes.  Contrast is so important for lace patterns.
1 swatch detail VLT leaf and trellis

Lace Landscape.
1 swatch detail2 VLT leaf and trellis

Zephyr silk and wool.  Size 2.0 mm (0) KnitPicks needles.  Jane Sowerby Victorian Lace Today, leaf and trellis shawl.

I think I’ll add another repeat.  This niece is tall.  And I need to swatch her name and figure out where it will fit best. 

Garbage news:  Teamsters still locked out.  The temporary workers hired by Waste Management are still visible today, but oh, they’re slow.  Waste Management stated they locked out their employees when the contract ran out to avoid a break in service in case of strike, despite the union pledging not to strike.  (according to KPFA news reports)  Two weeks before the garbage is picked up is not a break in service?  I hear the City is moving ahead with legal proceedings of some kind.  Good.

Recently Read:

Sunshine, Robin McKinley.  Written in a similar style to the ARC I read recently (Dragon something or other), but a much better read.  Possibly because the narrator has interaction with other people (conversations, actions) and it’s not just a book full of the narrator’s thought processes.  Possibly because the narrator is in general less annoying to me personally.  Good story, good conflicts.  Fantasy/supernatural.  The strange stuff makes complete sense in the context of this book’s reality.  It’s an everyday world with a bit of odd stuff and odd history.

First Impressions, Jude Deveraux.  Needed editing.  I was knocked out of the story several times by repetition or misplacement of descriptions/conversations.  Ok story, characters not particularly compelling.  From the library, so I’m not worried if I liked it or not.  Romance.

And a bunch of bedtime reading from the library.  The Witch’s Children is great fun and silly, as is Mother, Mother, I Feel SickMr. Carey’s Garden is sweet.  New Cat is pretty good, but the fire is scary.  And, of course, the inevitable machine/truck book One Big Building.

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting and more knitting, Oakland, Reading, Ten of Lace

One response to “Leaf and Trellis Lace Swatch

  1. Speaking of lace wraps; have you seen “Wrapped in Comfort” by Alison Jeppson Hyde from Palo Alto? Round lace shawls separated in front. They drape beautifully and show off the lace perfectly. I’m itching to make one. I’ll start with a beginner pattern. Drool! Drool! Drool!

Leave a Reply

