Camera!

Catch up photo time!

Mom wanted to see what I came home with from the Knitting Basket sale.  To recap: Barbara Walker, Lady Gainford’s Designs for Knitting Kilt Hose and Knickerbocker Stockings, Kidsilk Haze, Colinette Jitterbug sock yarn, Koigu KPPM in a colour I’ve been coveting for months but leaving on the shelves, Habu natural dyed bamboo which is not sky blue but greener.  (One of these colours is not like the others.)
knitting basket greed

The robot, inspired by Jess Hutch’s pattern, on top of the Baby Surprise Jacket in Rowan Felted Tweed (still needs sewing up).
robot and BSJ

And the back of the robot.
robot down

The Night Kitchen Socks, with vegetables!
night kitchen still life

And my new sock.  I decided to put away the Fleece Artist Sea Wool for now.  I really don’t like any colour variegation in a patterned stitch.  Because the last socks were such a plain knit (but not plain colours), I want something more complicated.  The bordello pattern is lovely, but easy enough to be a plain knit.  So I’m knitting the Canal du Midi socks from Nancy Bush Knitting on the Road in Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock.  Look at that cast-on edge!  When I started this sock with the Sea Wool, I was too tired to figure it out, but I did it on this start.  It’s the Double Start Cast-on, with one double strand over the thumb.  It starts with my regular continental long-tail cast-on, but with an added part.  Makes a lovely, quiet band of horizontal stitches across the top, and seems to be very stretchy.  I’m glad I took the time to figure it out.  The Kid’s bath is a great time to work on something more complicated.
Canal du Midi start

Meet the gallinas!  They’re inclined to taste my toes, but otherwise seem to be lovely personages.  My husband says they’re seven months old.  I hope to have eggs sometime.  Be sure I’ll have photos!
chickens are here

For Margaret, watching the machines next door, from Alain de Botton, The Architecture of Happiness,

There are few harsher indictments against architecture than the sadness we feel at the arrival of bulldozers, for our grief is in almost all cases fuelled more by distaste for what is to be built than by any hatred of the idea of development itself.

Forgive my vaguely coherent meanderings about this book previously.  They do not do the book justice, nor were they meant to.  I think they were just meanderings.

3 Comments

Filed under Farm in the Backyard, Greedy Me, Knitting and more knitting, Reading

3 responses to “Camera!

  1. The chickens are lovely. You will enjoy them. As far as the yarn goes. . . .lust. . . lust. . . lust.

    I’m taking a lace knitting class (my first) at Laci’s in October. Are you up for it? (Not that I think you need it. You could probably teach it.)

  2. Kmom

    Mmmmm. Love the yarns. Can’t wait to touch them! Thanks for the photo.

    A bit of a rebellious robot! Great!

    The still life is lovely. The sock colors just beg to be recognized in all sorts of places, no?

    Fresh and lovely hens–am so glad to see their feet aren’t turning old yellow. J did a good job. Are they getting a little oyster shell or some such? In preparation for the eggs to come.

    Canal du midi should be a fun sock to knit.

    Am having fun with the Bee Fields from Wooly Wonka. Am almost done with the first pattern. Will have something to show you!

  3. Wow. I love the quote. Must I add another book to my reading stash?

    Doesn’t your knitting get wet at bath time or is your little bather a bit less raucous than my two?

Leave a Reply

