Very nice, if I say so myself

I finished the cabled mitts the other day.  They may have taken longer to dry than to knit.  I like them and I think my friend will like them.  He loves gifts made especially for him.  I’m very lucky in my friends and my family.  They appreciate hand-made more than store-bought.

The front:
finished mitts

The back:
mitts front and back

Through the grapevine:
mitts on the vine

Cascade 220, one of the heathered colours.  The Pretzel Braid from Barbara Walker’s Charted Knitting Designs: A Third Treasury of Knitting Patterns and a Knit 3 Purl 1 rib.  I cast on 40 on #4 DPNs (gauge maybe 5 1/2 st per inch?) and made it up from there.  The second mitt was quicker to knit because I just had to redo what I figured out on the first one, I kept notes, and I knit it immediately so I still knew what my notes meant.  I’m very happy.  Next time, I won’t bother with the K1P1 rows.  I’ll start immediately with the K3P1.   I wouldn’t learn anything if I always knit everything perfectly.  Perfection is pretty, but boring.

I am pleased.

4 Comments

Filed under Knitting and more knitting

4 responses to “Very nice, if I say so myself

  1. Very nice. Your friend will enjoy them.

  2. Kmom

    Great! They turned out so well.

  3. Pingback: Baby, It’s Cold Outside « Small Scars

Leave a Reply

