A mitten grows

And I took a picture this morning (time change – now there’s light in the morning and not so much in the evening, soon all to disappear outside working hours) but haven’t taken it off the camera yet. 

I’m past the waste yarn for the thumb!  I have to estimate length, since my brother didn’t leave his hand with me.  I’ll knit it to the pattern’s 9 inches.  The DPNs are 8 inches long, so I plan to start the top shaping when I’m about a knuckle below the end of the DPN (1 3/4 inches before finished length).  Unless I have a ruler handy.  But what fun is that?

The bean flower pattern moves along quickly, if I actually work on it.

Life:  Very Busy.  I barely had time to go to the grocery store this weekend and I’m lucky I managed to clean the bathroom and wash dishes.  Rooms are being rearranged and reordered and that means the house is in the middle of chaos.  I move the computer stuff out of one room, and to put it where I plan to put it, I have to empty out another spot, so that stuff goes on the dining room table, ad infinitum.  I worked my butts off.  My husband decided to start painting the house, so he’s working his butts off too.  We’re tired.  The Kid tolerates us.  And now we’re in Monday again.  Sigh.

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting and more knitting

2 responses to “A mitten grows

  1. Those mittens are beautiful! I can’t wait to see the new photo (I looked at the older one you’d linked to). I bet they’ll be nice and warm, too, with the extra yarn floating along in the back. I’m so glad to hear that I’m not the only one who aims for the once-a-week clean and uses the rest of the time for knitting — even that is enough to kill me sometimes. Older Daughter is finally getting to the point where she can make a sandwich for herself and her sister for lunch, and yesterday she proudly presented me with one, too! Retirement is around the corner (LOL).

  2. I never heard of butts being used in the plural when meant for the singular. Now I know we speak of buns in the plural when speaking of the singular, but hmmm. Its a new expression to consider. More importantly, I want to see those mittens! How exciting.

Leave a Reply

