The Joy of Yarn

The other day, I had lunch with a friend and coworker during which we bemoaned many things about our work.  Not very cheering.  Before we left, we needed to talk about something uplifting, so on to knitting!  Worked a charm.

Yesterday, called Mom, who’s exhausted in the midst of a frantic work season and needed to bemoan many things about her work.  Before we stopped talking, I started wondering out loud about how I should do the decreases for the beret.  She perked right up, thought it out with me and helped me figure out what to do.  All my thoughts were scattered, and she focused and weeded for me.  I apologized for prompting her to think on a tired mind, but she said it was a treat to puzzle out something different.  Thank you Mom!

And in case you’re wondering, I figured out the difference between my row gauge and the pattern row gauge.  The pattern calls for decreasing on every row.  I’m throwing in a non-decrease row every third round.   Which I started last night.  Not a brainless knit – decreasing in moss/seed/checkerboard pattern takes attention. 

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting and more knitting

2 responses to “The Joy of Yarn

  1. I love how knitting is sometimes a perfect distraction from other stresses. Honestly, I don’t think I would have gotten through my many work meetings this week without being able to knit through them (another woman even brought her crochet this week — I’ve started a trend!). I can’t do it at all meetings, but some is better than none 🙂

  2. Kmom

    Let me know how the every third row decrease works! Your call was an oasis indeed. And now we’re all wondering what will happen tomorrow with the threat of real winter weather and interviewees coming from all directions. Where will it really hit? How much will precipitate AND be in some frozen form? How much will stick? When, exactly? And on and on. At least we all figured out how to change the out-going voice mail on the work phone–from home if need be!

Leave a Reply

