Finished Mitts! With Recipe

Only a week late for Teachers Appreciation week…

They’re sitting in the (very hot) house drying as I write (from my air-conditioned office).

Super easy to knit.  Gorgeous yarn and so lovely to work with, I’m sorry to be finished.  I wondered if I’d be sick of them before I finished all four.  Silk Wool yarn naturally dyed by Tactile Fiber Arts.  I’ll be looking for more of the same.

While you’re waiting for me to add a photo, would you like the recipe?

Easy Mitts Recipe

With gorgeous worsted weight yarn, cast on 36 stitches. 

Knit 3 Purl 1 rib.  Knit as long as you want on your wrist. 

Start the thumb gusset:  Knit 1. Make 1. Knit 1. Make 1. Knit 1. Purl 1. (you’re increasing two stitches one stitch inside the K3 rib).  Finish the round.  *Next round, knit and purl as the stitches come (gusset will be stockinette).  Next round, again increase 2 stitches.  Knit 1.  Make 1. Knit 3(5, 7, 9). Make 1. Knit 1. Purl 1. and finish the round. Repeat from * until thumb gusset, including outer 2 knit stitches is total of 11 stitches.  Place those 11 stitches on holder.  

Make 3 stitches with backward loop.  And continue knitting K3P1 ribbing until mitt reaches desired length (I usually do about 12 rows after setting aside thumb stitches).  Cast off.  To ensure edge does not flare, evenly space K2tog three times as you cast off.

Place 11 held thumb gusset stitches on needle, knit across (leaving long tail for later weaving and neatening).  Pick up 4 stitches to come back to beginning of round.  Knit one round.  Then start Knit 2 Purl 1 ribbing and continue until thumb is desired length (I usually do about 8 rows of ribbing).  Cast off.  To ensure edge does not flare, evenly space K2tog two times as you cast off.

Weave in ends.  Use long tail at thumb to neaten up any holes (I usually do sort of duplicate stitch on the inside) and weave in end.  Wash and block/lay flat to dry.

1 Comment

Filed under Knit Recipes, Knitting and more knitting

One response to “Finished Mitts! With Recipe

  1. Congratulations on finishing in time! I am dying to see pictures, and hoping that I can score some of that yarn at the CA sheep and wool festival in september (I have plans, you see) — it is so gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

