Water Socks

I cast on easy, carry around socks – Lichen Socks pattern from Nancy Bush’s Knitting Vintage Socks, with leg shaping added. Then I decided the colours make me think of water, so it would be fun to have a watery ribbing down the leg. As I inhaled lunch last week on the way to clinic, I pulled out all four Barbara Walker treasuries and Charlene Schurch’s Sensational Knitted Socks. I found these: Embossed Wave (BW), Ribbed Lace (CS), and Ripple Rib Stitch (BW).

water sock pattern possibilities

Then I noticed I cast on 4 too many stitches, even with the leg shaping, so I decided to pull out the start, and start over without leg shaping. This is the ripple rib stitch. Looks great relaxed, but loses definition stretched out over my foot. If I try the ribbed lace, I’ll replace the yarn overs with a non-holey increase. I like the embossed waves because the edges are so clear and smoother.

I also thought about Knitspot’s Sock de la Mer, but they’re not quite what I’m feeling for this yarn. Then my son pulled out Nancy Bush’s Knitting on the Road (he likes to look at the sock pictures, and even more the little travel drawings with each pattern). Canal du Midi could be it.  (I found a beautiful pair here.)

Looks like I’m swatching.

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting and more knitting

One response to “Water Socks

  1. I must confess — I love my Canal du Midi socks! The pattern was good fun, and excellent for travel. I can’t wait to see what you choose in the end.

Leave a Reply

