Collaboration

A while ago, I asked the kid to draw a tooth fairy, so I could make him a tooth pillow.

So he did.
tooth fairy drawing
I’m intrigued by his editing process. (Papa likes the yellow one better, with antenna.)

And I finally drew it in thread last weekend, and made the pillow. I think I did a pretty good job!
tooth fairy pillow

Because you need a side-by-side view.
tooth fairy pillow and drawing

And a random photo of pillow in the November grapes.
tooth fairy in grapes

We’re very happy with it. So much fun! I managed to embroider it free-hand, as always with the willingness to rip out at the ready. A few years ago, I picked up Kristin Nicholas’ Colorful Stitchery (scroll down to second book). I like the book a lot. I wouldn’t have done this little creature if I didn’t have the book. Clear instructions. Inspiring, colorful projects. Beautifully textured materials. (I’d like to have Kristin Knits some day.)

(Not everyThing is giving me fits.)

2 Comments

Filed under Kid Stories, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Collaboration

  1. I love it! What a great idea. Alas, yesterday, Kivrin figured out about the tooth fairy and asked me outright whether she was real. After I answered her question, I asked her how she felt about it, and she told me very firmly, “I’d rather know the truth”, so I guess I did the right thing, but no tooth fairy pillows for us!

  2. Margieinoakland

    Yay!! Its fantastic, what a great idea! You did a great job replicating his drawing, very impressive.

    When’s the first tooth?

Leave a Reply

