Bits of Knitting

I owe you photos of knitting projects.  I think I’ve mentioned a couple of them already.

Like these Easy Mitts for my brother’s girlfriend.  Why, no!  They’re not quite done yet!  Such a surprise.

orange mitts

Once again, I adore the yarn I’m using for a pair of mitts. I really, really, really want enough for a sweater. A closer look?

orange mitts close
Sigh….

I do have enough of this Malabrigo Sock for a sweater. This is going to take me a long time to do, especially since I can’t decide what to do.

malabrigo sock sweater swatch
Knit Purl. Stockinette. Cable on the edge (I love that!). Lace. What next? Clearly, I’m still swatching. Not necessarily in the active sense of the word.

When Mom was here, she brought out a shawl she’d just finished. Remember my little koigu triange shoulder shawl? Mom made a big one, with the edging pattern and everything, out of Araucania alpaca in blues and turquoise. Such a lovely thing. I got to block it with her. I’m not sure how it made it back in her suitcase. I wanted it. The girlfriend-in-law wanted it. We all used it. So I started this. It’s the Beginner’s Triangle from A Gathering of Lace. Alpaca yarn from West Valley Alpacas, only about an hour and a touch from Oakland (two years ago already!). Very simple, but I still manage to mess up every so often. It takes an impromptu fix gracefully. At the time of this writing, it’s what I’m working on most. (I’m writing ahead. I spent the day with posts in my head, so I’m taking advantage of the opportunity and knocking a bunch out ahead of time. Then I’ll have another 2 or 3 week break, but maybe not.)

grey shawl

I’m almost a third of the way through. I love knitting this. I can’t wait to wear it!

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting and more knitting

2 responses to “Bits of Knitting

  1. Kathryn

    Mmmm. Lovely. Looking forward to feeling it.

  2. Ooh, that is gorgeous! You’re going to wear that a TON, I bet. And I had no idea there was alpaca yarn to be had straight from the source so close to Oakland. Field trip time!

Leave a Reply

