Tuesday after Lambtown

We’re up!  We’re out!  We’re well-provisioned!  Pretty good for a Monday morning.  (And now it’s Tuesday!  We’re provisioning.)

The kiddo and I went to Lambtown on Saturday.  Lovely little show!  It was mostly a kid-directed day.  (Except when I dragged him protesting and crying and whining through the vendor building.)  Sheep dog trials!  Shearing contest!  An alpaca to pet!  Sheep to Shawl!  Jumpy House!  Teeny tiny train to ride!  We watched them unload sheep (for the shearing contest) from a trailer.  Classic clown car act.  (That must be all of them.  Nope, they didn’t unload the upper level yet!  Wow!  That’s a lot of sheep!)

Someday, I’d like to take a class or two.  Spend quiet time wandering through the vendors.  Sit with the Ravelry group for a minute.  Watch the sheep shows, the fleece shows.  But we still managed a relaxed long day, mostly happy for both of us.  I bought a Niddy Noddy.  We’re amused by the name.  Very amused!  (Heh Heh naughty knitting)  (6 year old amused)

Soccer Sunday morning.  Great cool weather, happy kids.  I didn’t knit a stitch on the kiddo’s Cleo sock.  But can’t say I watched much of the game.  It feels like Fall, right on schedule.  Cool, crisp mornings.  Less light.

I cooked all evening Sunday.  (and cleaned the bathroom – small victories!  Don’t look at the rest of the house.)  Made Roasted Squash, Pear, Ginger Soup from the cookbook Vegetable Soups by Deborah Madison.  Sounded good.  Smelled pretty good.  Lordy!  It’s great!  Surpassed my expectations!  It’s dessert, without being sweet.  And the house filled with the smells of roasting, well, see above.  And braised chicken legs.  And pumpkin muffins.  The brocolli salad was less successful.  Harsh raw garlic.  Not so good for lunch at work.  And roasted tomatoes.   I can cook a nice pile of food, not necessarily a meal to eat all at once, about once a week.  So I don’t feel so bad later in the week when I’m buyin lunch en la calle.

Time to Change Your Clothes!  Put on Your Shoes!  Grab a Jacket!  Really – grab a jacket!  It’s cold out there and your mother’s cold!  You need a jacket!

2 Comments

Filed under Excursions, Food, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Tuesday after Lambtown

  1. 🙂 It sounds like a great weekend! That soup sounds absolutely fabulous, mmm… It’s starting to cool down here enough that I’m asking the girls where their sleeves are, too. They don’t seem to notice the need the way I do.

  2. It sounds like fun! I missed Lambtown this year – I was just too zonked to make the trip.

    Heh. Your six year old and I are both amused. 😉

Leave a Reply

