It’s Raining! It’s Pouring!

Nobody here is snoring!

Really, no one in this house has ever snored.  In fact, if you are a regular snore-er, you won’t here.  True!  We should have our own infomercial!

I may be lying.

Wet Tuesday.  Heavy rain for NorCal.  I’m happy!  Especially since I can avoid the freeway easily most of the day.  Luckily, I finally bought myself a very long raincoat.  My legs stayed dry.  Ah, the simple pleasures.  Now I need rain gloves.  And a waterproof bag or two.  It would have been a perfect day to stay home in the quiet and ignore the dishes, curled up with a book or knitting.

Funny things today.  Driving home this evening from school (after school) pick up, the kiddo said, “I’m going to tell you a story.  You already know it.”  And he started telling me something.  I couldn’t quite hear him, so I turned up the volume.  On the radio.  That’s not attached to my child.  Oddly enough, it didn’t work, but it distracted us from the story.  (and I didn’t even have the radio turned on!  I think I’m running low on sleep.  Kiddo says, “It was very funny.”)

Got to see a good friend for a few minutes yesterday.  She reads and knits.  (what do we find to talk about?)  She’s working with a physical therapist, who saw her knitting while she waited for her appointment.  He suggested that she prop her elbows on pillows to help her shoulders.  (Imagine!  Giving a useful suggestion, instead of saying, “stop doing that.”)  I immediately thought that would be a great use for a nursing pillow.  Too bad the one I have lying around (if it still is and it may have left the house) is floppy.  I decided I need a new one before knitting retreat this weekend.  (Knitting Retreat!  This Weekend!)  My shoulder is mad at me.  Was my lower back, but the mad moved into the shoulder.  I hate hurting myself.  And I haven’t let myself knit as much as I want to.  Or play with the spindle as much as I want (and I’m trying to figure out something other than reaching up over my head.)  (Kiddo is rubbing my  shoulder right now.  So Nice!)  Couldn’t get to Target easily this week, but found myself near enough a baby/toy store in Rockridge.  The extra price tag is worth not driving to Albany when I don’t have time.  It was pouring rain when I parked.  Someone was paying the funny parking receipt machine.  Took a while.  I waited in the car.  Got out.  Hers was cancelled.  I put my money in, nothing doing.  Nuts!  But her money was in the coin return.  So I found $1.25.  Went to the store, saw her, and promptly returned her change.  (But I didn’t actually look for her, and I would have kept it, so not as virtuous as I could make myself sound.)  Then looked at the very expensive, only one style in stock, nursing pillow.  And another woman said she had a barely used one at home, just a few minutes away.  Darned if I didn’t get a free nursing pillow!  And she knows it’s for knitting/reading.  She was happy to get it out of the house.  I think I’ll be knitting a pair of lovely mitts and dropping them off for her soon.  I feel so lucky!

Then I took Hwy 13 through the rain and the fog, then down to my house for a minute and promptly got annoyed by my husband.  Whiplash!  Good thing I was on my way to see another patient.  Didn’t have time to get more annoyed.

Kiddo reminds me to say that when we got home, I started a fight with his Dad.  He needed annoying back.  I don’t think it worked.  Now we’re in the living room, using candles instead of lights.  Might as well enjoy the dark!  Might need to buy a few more.

Good Night!  Sleep Tight with Teddy!

2 Comments

Filed under Family Stories, Kid Stories

2 responses to “It’s Raining! It’s Pouring!

  1. The rain was lovely. It knocked out our cable but not the lights.

    Good idea with the pillow! and virtue being rewarded so quickly.

    Lol at turning up his volume with the radio controls!

  2. I love the pillow idea! And I had to laugh about the volume; I’ve done that, and so has at least one other friend of mine. I wonder what’s up with that? Also, loved the whiplash thing — glad to know I’m not the only one who can go from happy to mad in 60 seconds flat 😉

Leave a Reply

