Beware the Ides of March: a tale of woeful knits

Well…  It’s not as bad as that. 

A week ago, we lost one of the kiddo’s red mittens.  I always knit him red mittens, for our once a winter snow trip and now ice skating.  Couldn’t find that durned thing anywhere.  So I knit up another one quickly (takes about 2 hours total) to match.  Sort of.  The original pair (with a vaguely train trackish pattern up the back) are felted with use, after the wet snow trip and a bit of ice.  This one, I knit a slalom track up the back.  I have to entertain myself somehow!  Naturally, he decides to wear them backwards to ice skating Saturday, because he doesn’t want to look at the pattern.  Humph!  And he doesn’t like the new one because it’s not fuzzy.  He says he fell down a lot to work on the mitten. 

On the way to the zoo Sunday, he found the lost mitten in the car.  So now he has a beloved felty fuzzy pair and a single.  Time to knit another mitten.  For somebody!

Sunday morning, I ran the wool cycle.  Odd mitten pair, my mitts I wear constantly (they were getting a little stiff), a sweater or two, some wool blankets.  And a new shawl (Gaia, in Noro Silk Garden Sock).   Sunday morning, my husband washed the dog blankets.  He pulled my stuff out of the machine and into the basket and ran his load.  After he finished hanging the blankets, he told me, “There’s something of yours in the machine still.”  No!!!! Not one of my mitts!  One of my beloved silk wool mitts!  It’s well washed.  A little smaller, a little firm, but ok.  I was lucky.  That was a close call, and could have been so much worse.  I decided to use an approach based on humour and overacting to encourage him to check the machine more carefully.  I think it worked.  He offered to wash my new shawl for me.

3 Comments

Filed under Knitting and more knitting

3 responses to “Beware the Ides of March: a tale of woeful knits

  1. Eek! Don’t let him near the shawl!

    I’m glad to hear that the mitten incident and the washing incident both came out well in the end. 🙂

  2. Margaret

    Wool washing? I should probably finish something before even consider washing it, huh?

  3. Overacting? As in threatening mayhem and certain death if he ever felted an item under any and all circumstances? I love how you played that as “overacting”. 🙂

    The pattern, it is distracting! And mittens must be felted. Your poor son. Having to go through all that.

Leave a Reply

